The Detroit Lions

By Diane Parker

The Detroit Lions originally were based in Portsmouth, Ohio and were called the Portsmouth Spartans. The Spartans joined the National Football League in July, 1930. The team was purchased and moved to downtown Detroit in 1934 where they play at Ford Field. The Detroit Lions have won four NFL Championships, have tied for 9th overall in championships amongst all thirty-two NFL franchises.

George Wilson became head coach from 1957 to 1964. He is the first recipient of the NFL Coach of the Year Award. 1980 Wilson was inducted into the Michigan Sports Hall of Fame. The Lions have eleven Hall of Famers, names such as Bill Dudley, Dick "Night Train" Lane, Bobby Layne and Earl "Dutch" Clark.

The Detroit Tigers are members of the American Professional Baseball Association, founded in 1901. The team is the oldest continuous one-name, one-city franchise in the American League.

The Tigers have won four World Series, 1935, 1945, 1968 and 1984. They play at Comerica Park in Corkstown west of the city of Detroit.

The club is a charter member of the American League, one of four clubs, Boston Red Sox, Chicago White Sox, and the Cleveland Indians still are all located in their original cities.